Skip to main content

Justice, Fairness, Inclusion, and Performance.

Rosemary O'Leary


Rosemary O'Leary profile headshot
Rosemary O’Leary is best known for her research exploring underrepresented voices in public organizations and in society. She has won 13 national research awards and 2 international research awards (including 4 best book awards) and 11 teaching awards (2 of them national). She is among a few who have won 5 lifetime achievement awards in the field of public management/public administration from four different associations. She is the only person to win 4 NASPAA awards for Distinguished Research, Excellence Doctoral Education, Best Dissertation, and Excellence in Teaching. In 2021, the Academy of Management chose her book, "The Ethics of Dissent: Managing Guerrilla Government" as the winner of the Best Book in Public Management Award. Rosemary has worked in Hong Kong, China, Malaysia, Philippines, New Zealand, India, and Nepal as a Fulbright Scholar, a teacher, a researcher and a Peace Corps volunteer. Rosemary was a member of NASA’s Return to Flight Task Group assembled in response to the Columbia space shuttle accident and was awarded the NASA Distinguished Service Award for her efforts. She was President of the US-based Public Management Research Association and worked actively with its board of directors for ten years. In 2019, the Europe-based IRSPM established the annual "Rosemary O'Leary Prize for Outstanding Scholarship on Women in Public Administration." Today Rosemary is Vice President for North America at IRSPM.

History of Employment

Edwin O. Stene Distinguished Professor Emerita and Former Director
School of Public Affairs and Administration
University of Kansas
Public Management Research Association
Phanstiel Endowed Chair, Distinguished Professor, and Co-Director
Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs, Program for the Analysis of Conflict and Collaboration
Syracuse University
Professor and Co-Director
School of Public and Environmental Affairs, Indiana Conflict Resolution Institute
Indiana University
Division of Policy and Planning
Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Assistant General Counsel
Environmental Division
Kansas Corporation Commission
Governor's Fellow
Office of the Governor of Kansas
Fulbright Scholar and Ian Axford Public Policy Scholar
Malaysia, Philippines, and New Zealand
NASA Return-to-Flight Task Group
In Response to Columbia Space Shuttle Accident
Peace Corps Response Volunteer
Ifugao State University
The Ethics of Dissent: Managing Guerrilla Government
Primary Policy Areas

Education, Energy, Environment/Natural Resources, Ethics, Gender Policy, Government Operations/Innovation, Nonprofit/Philanthropy, Urban Affairs

Primary Sector of Expertise


Primary Functions

Academic Faculty, Academic Administration, Intergovernmental, Organizational Structure/Design/Development