Justice, Fairness, Inclusion, and Performance.

Back to Events

Academy Fall Meeting 2021

November 03, 2021 @ 08:30:00 am - November 09, 2021 @ 05:00:00 pm
Eastern Time (ET)

Addressing Grand Challenges Through The Intergovernmental System

The theme for this year's Fall Meeting is “Addressing Grand Challenges through the Intergovernmental System,” and we are very excited about the content and structure of the five-day event. This year's Fall Meeting will be a novel approach as a hybrid model with remote and in-person options presented by five host sites throughout the country (Arizona, Nebraska, California, Indiana, and Washington, D.C.) When registering, you may choose the all-virtual option or you may opt to attend a regional gathering in person with the remaining content delivered virtually.

If you are planning to attend in person, for the best experience we recommend one of the on-site live options at one of our host sites. View the Schedule-At-A-Glance below to learn more about our on-site hosts and day themes.

Fellows are enthusiastic for more engagement and we are looking forward to fruitful engagement with new and current Fellows, hearing from phenomenal speakers, participating in powerful discussions, and honoring our Awardees! In addition to uniquely themed days, the Academy will be inducting the new Fellows of the Class of 2021.

Registration for in-person attendance is now closed but registration for virtual attendance remains open!

Once you have registered, please proceed to "Enter Event" and sign up for individual sessions.

Please note that host-sites and in-person attendance will be following local CDC COVID-19 guidelines regarding masks and social distancing


Registration / Login

You need to login to register, or view the event sessions.


Schedule-At-A-Glance

*All times in host sites time zones*

Wednesday, November 3rd, 2021

Host Site: National Academy of Public Administration DC Office

Theme: New Fellow Orientation, Academy Meetings, Awards, and Standing Panel Meetings

  • Welcome to the 2021 Academy Fall Meeting 8:30 - 9:00 am ET
  • Academy Board Meeting 9:00 am - 12:00 pm ET
  • New Fellows Orientation 10:00 am - 12:00 pm ET
  • NAPA Business Meeting & Awards 1:00 - 3:00 pm ET
  • Academy Standing Panel Breakout Sessions 3:30-5:00 pm ET
  • Reception and New Fellows Induction 5:00 - 6:30 pm ET

Thursday, November 4, 2021

Host Site: Arizona State University

Theme: Technology, Innovation, and Digital Equity for the Future

  • Welcome 8:30 - 9:00 am AZ/PT | 11:30 am - 12:00 pm ET
  • Panel Session 1: Technology, Innovation and Governance for Recovery and Renewal 9:00 - 10:30 am AZ/PT | 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm ET
  • NAPA Content 10:30 - 11:30 am AZ/PT | 1:30 pm - 2:30 pm ET
  • Panel Session 2: Digital Equity and Opportunity in Communities 12:30 - 2:15 pm AZ/PT | 3:30 pm - 5:15 pm EDT
  • Regional Meetings 2:30 - 3:45 pm AZ/PT | 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm ET
  • Reception and Networking (In-Person Only) 4:00 - 5:30 pm AZ/PT | 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm ET

Friday, November 5, 2021

Host Site: University of Nebraska at Omaha

Theme: Protecting and Advancing Our Democracy

  • Panel Session 1: National Civic League’s Model City Charter Revision 8:30 - 10:00 am CT | 9:30 am - 11:00 am ET
  • Panel Session 2: Law Enforcement and Democracy 10:15 - 11:45 am CT | 11:15 am - 12:45 pm ET
  • NAPA Content 1:00 - 2:00 pm CT | 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm ET
  • Panel Session 3: Civic Engagement and Democracy 2:15 - 3:15 pm CT | 3:15 pm - 4:15 pm ET
  • Panel Session 4: The Role of the Media in Protecting Democracy 3:30 - 4:30 pm CT | 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm ET

Monday, November 8, 2021

Host Site: University of San Francisco

Theme: Intergovernmental Dimensions of Advancing the Economy, Health & Social Equity

  • Plenary Session- Covid-19: Assessing Federal, State, & Local Collaboration Through Crisis & Recovery 9:20 - 10:30 am PT | 12:20 pm - 1:30 pm ET
  • Local and Regional Government Partner with Foundations to Advance Economic Development, Meaningful Work and Social Equity 10:45 am - 12:30 pm PT | 1:45 pm - 3:30 pm ET
  • Reimaging A More Effective Intergovernmental System for the Future 1:45 - 2:30 pm PT | 4:45 pm - 5:30 pm ET
  • Advancing Health Equity: State, Tribal, and Local Perspectives on the Intergovernmental Systems 2:45 - 4:15 pm PT | 5:45 pm - 7:15 pm ET

Tuesday, November 9, 2021

Host Site: Indiana University Bloomington

Theme: Public Leadership to Expand the Boundaries of Urban Sustainability

  • Panel Session 1: Public Leadership to Expand the Boundaries of Urban Sustainability 9:15 - 10:45 am ET
  • Panel Session 2: Urban Food Systems 11:00 am - 12:30 pm EDT
  • Lunch and Guest Speaker: Frances Moore-Lappe 12:30 - 1:50 pm ET
  • NAPA Hour + Break 1:50 - 2:30 pm ET
  • Panel Session 3: Justice, Equity, Energy 2:30 - 4:00 pm ET

Questions?

Sharon Yoo

Research Analyst

For questions regarding the Academy Fall Meeting 2021, please email Sharon Yoo at syoo@napawash.org or at 202-204-3609.

View Bio

Back to Events